Constitutional Background

There is no complete ICL edition yet.  We have transfered a text provided by George Katrougalos into a temporary edition.

The island is split by a UN-controlled "green line" into a southern Greek part and a northern Turkish part. The "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" is recognized only by Turkey, with Greek-Cypriots claiming their property back. Greek-Cypriots are trying to promote EU-integration by 2000. However, Turkish-Cypriots worry about minority status in a possible loose federation.

History and News

  • 3 July 1990: Cyprus files its EC-membership application. 
  • 5 May 1985: New constitution adopted by referendum for the Turkish part.
  • 15 Nov 1983: Turkish Cypriot Rauf Denktash declares independence of a (renamed) "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" (TRNC); national holiday in the Turkish part; TRNC is not recognized by any state except Turkey.
  • 13 February 1975: Turkish Cypriot area proclaims self-rule from Republic of Cyprus and creates their own constitution.
  • June 1974: After Turkish invasion, the island is divided.
  • 1963: Outbreak of disagreements between the two ethnic communities.
  • 16 Aug 1960: Independence from the United Kingdom; constitution is signed, among others, by the First Governor of the Colony of Cyprus, Sir Hugh Foot, the Consul-General of Greece, George Christopoulos, his Turkish counterpart, Turel; negotiations to create a revised constitution to improve relations between Greek and Turkish Cypriots are blocked.
  • 19 February 1959: London Agreement provides for a Joint Constitutional Commission to draft the constitution.

For methodology see: Comparing Constitutions and International Constitutional Law.
© 1994 - 27.6.2020 / For corrections please contact A. Tschentscher.